ASIC design comanies

• Author
    Davide

Is the number of ASIC design companies (world-wide) increasing or decreasing? is there any consolidation in this market?

sfhoover

I am by no means an expert on market trends, but I can offer my personal perspective as an 18-year-veteran big-iron chip designer, and, recently, as the founder of an EDA startup. I’m writing this response mainly to help myself sort out in my own mind why many of my former colleagues are now looking for work. To the extent that you find it useful, read on. Sorry for the long answer, but mere statistics won’t help to draw useful conclusions.

There is consolidation, but what I find to be more telling is the repartitioning of the design process. As the industry matures and as ASICs grow exponentially more complexity, the design process is partitioning into more decoupled layers. In particular, I’ll comment briefly on fabrication, and then I’ll talk about the influence of the IP ecosystem. I started my career with DEC in ’96 in the Alpha processor group. We had our own fab and did our own designs with our own tools, starting from RTL and schematics. It doesn’t work like this anymore, and we can extrapolate the changes over the years into the future.

Layer 1, Fabrication:

Fabs are becoming incredibly expensive, and, as AMD did with GlobalFoundries, large companies are separating fabrication from design. The expense of fabs requires consolidation and we have but a few foundries remaining. With the decoupling of fabrication and design, chip makers lose the ability to fine-tune their designs to the technology, and this is an acceptable trade-off. Design is now done at a higher level, as necessitated by complexity. It is increasingly up to tools to match the design to the technology (though we haven’t come as far in this department as one would hope). (Note that highly replicated structures, like memories and FPGAs, are a bit of an exception, as they still require device-level optimizations.)