Die vs. bin? Lot vs. device?

• Author
    BasharSS

As a software developer; I will need to work/develop app according to exist Semiconductor database. I am still new in Semiconductor field; While I know what is the Lot, wafer and the die. I still need to know what is the bin?! How is it related to die? Why Lot is joined with device? How is it known devices related to Lot?
    Is there any documentation about this?
    I really need your help, any comment or link will be highly appreciated.
    (I did many search on google but didn’t find what I need, maybe I am not good on search or there lack of info about these)

Yovav

Bin is a number that is referenced to a test that fails during production test.
    Each test in the production test flow is linked to either soft(ware) bin (usually used in wafer map that shows the result of each die and which test it failed) or hard(ware) bin (usually defines the tray which the failed chip was placed in to differentiate it from the passing chips).

Henrik

It can be very tricky to actually understand the details. You can get an idea by watching youtube videos such as: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yKl71IX8Zc0

Before calculation define you supply chain, then you can define the parameters for each phase and thereafter the calculation becomes easy.

The sorting is either on wafer level or device level depending upon the cost-trade-of between wafer cost/die size, yields and packaging cost.
    The sorting is in principle two classes (bins): pass or fail. But in praxis you also have “continuety” and special parameter sets that enables to track trends.

In many cases you also have more pass bins – that can be to sort out high and low perfomance dies or devices.

BasharSS

I found this, which could help someone like me in the future :